National award winners

Posted: Friday 07 October 2016

Our Awards for Excellence 2016 gave us the chance to celebrate the excellent and inspirational work done to provide services and care for people with macular disease.


This year’s winners are:


Clinical Service of the Year

•           Staff of the Ophthalmology Clinic at Aintree University Hospital

•           Mr Venkat Kotamarthi and team at Leighton Hospital


Optician or Optometrist of the Year

•           Sarah Burchett, Specsavers, Guernsey

•           Clark Optometrists, Orkney


Chairman’s Award for Volunteering

•           Mr David Kett

•           Mr Arnold Nayler

•           Mrs Elaine Orwin


Technical Innovation of the Year

•           Synapptic


Public Transport Provider of the Year

•           Delta Taxis


Retailer of the Year

•           Tesco Rotherham


Alan Alderman Award

•           Professor Usha Chakravarthy CBE


Cathy Yelf, Chief Executive of the Macular Society, said: “It is clear that all our award winners work hard to improve the lives of people affected by macular degeneration, with excellence in advice and information. We are extremely grateful for their efforts.”


The Macular Society’s annual award scheme has been made possible because of the generous sponsorship of Vision Aid.