Awards for Excellence 2020 – nominations open

Posted: Friday 06 March 2020

Nominations are now open for this year’s Awards for Excellence. Running for a 12th year the awards are our chance to recognise and reward the amazing work that goes into providing services and care for people with macular disease and the dedication of the volunteers who make our work possible.

Pat Clemow was one of the winners at last year’s awards. Pat, who was diagnosed with age-related macular degeneration (AMD) in 2000, was named joint winner in the Chairman’s Award for Volunteering category for her efforts and dedication in supporting people with macular disease and raising awareness of the condition.

After receiving her award, Pat said: “I really enjoy all of the volunteering activities I do for the Macular Society and it’s so rewarding. It also helps raise awareness of macular disease and why it’s so important that a cure is urgently found.

“I find that having experienced the problems people commonly have when they’re diagnosed with macular disease, it reassures them that I’ve been there and I get what they’re talking about. And I find I learn a lot from the people I’m there to help too, especially in how they live their lives with sight loss.”

Once again, we are inviting nominations in three categories:

  • Clinical Service of the Year
  • Optician or Optometrist of the Year
  • Chairman’s Award for Volunteering.

You can nominate someone here or email to request a Word version.

To request a hard copy of the nomination form